Open topic with navigation
Deleting object dependencies removes that object's interactions, or dependencies, from other objects. Because the purpose of objects is to interact with other objects, there may be a certain amount of dependencies. Most are created at the time the object is initially instantiated, although you can add some later, either implicitly as a result of a workflow, or manually adding one, such as an event handler. However, deleting some dependencies may have unexpected effects on other objects. To mitigate those effects, Relativity may display a dependencies report, and asks you to confirm before deleting.
You also need to have the correct level of permissions. See your system admin for addition details. With the Delete Object Dependencies permission, you can force delete the current object, which includes deleting its children and unlinking associative objects.
This page contains the following sections:
The option to delete object dependencies appears only when you have the corresponding delete object dependencies security permission.
Before you force delete an object, you should:
To force delete one or more documents or RDOs:
Note: If the Delete button is disabled, then you don't have the security permission Delete Object Dependencies.
The dependencies report helps you understand how deleting an object affects its child and associative objects. You can run this report before deleting an object or group of objects to determine how this operation changes your workspace. The dependencies report is available for workspace-level objects in Relativity, including documents. You can display this report when you delete a single object or perform a mass delete operation.
To display the dependencies report, click View Dependencies in the Delete Object Type pop-up. If the object(s) you're trying to delete doesn't have any children or associative objects, the View Dependencies button is disabled.
The dependencies report displays a list of the object's child and associative objects as well as a count of each object type.
A dependency report contains the following fields:
The dependencies report provides information about the relationship between the selected object and other child or associative objects. However, it doesn't list objects that reference the fields on the selected object because they're not identified as children or linked by association.
When you force delete an object, Relativity may modify the content of the object’s fields or delete them. Because other objects may reference these fields, make sure that you have a clear understanding of how they're used in Relativity.
The following examples illustrate how the force delete of an object affects references to its fields.
When you create a categorization set, Relativity generates a Category Set Result field, which users can add to searches, views, and pivot profiles. If you force delete the categorization set, the Category Set Result field becomes blank. As a result, any saved searches referencing this field are blank, and any views using this field as a condition no longer list it.
Relativity generates a Search Terms Results field when you create a search terms report. You can use terms from the search terms report to create a persistent highlight set. If you force delete the search terms report, Relativity also deletes the Search Terms Results field, and the viewer no longer displays persistent highlights based on the search terms report. In this case, the persistent highlight set still references the Search Terms Results field, but it doesn't contain any results.